Easy Spanakopita

This is really cheating because it’s not the standard greek phyllo dough. However, as the recipe says, it’s easy — and it tastes good! The photo shows when I made 1/2 the recipe for  dinner and used only one package of the reduced fat dinner rolls. I put it in a pan where I had to stretch the dough a bit to make it fill the bottom of the pan. That resulted in less dough on top and bottom and we liked that better.  (I didn’t know it was thinner until I finally made the whole recipe in the correct pan. But, the full version is still very good. Or course I never follow the recipe exactly so here’s the original recipe with some notes on what I changed. Also, toasting it up when warming it is great because the crust gets a bit crispy.

Other changes.  I only used 3 eggs because I didn’t want it to be like a quiche, but maybe it would have hung together better if I had used all 4.  I didn’t have green onions so I used just regular yellow onion, chopped fine. I used 2 one pound bags of fresh baby spinach which I wilted and drained thoroughly and chopped a bit.  I used only about 10 – 12 oz of cottage cheese. (Not sure if this recipe has a mistake; I’ve seen similar recipes as far as the amount of spinach calling for only 8 oz of cottage cheese; that makes more sense to me.)  I threw in some garlic powder and a little nutmeg along with the dill.  (sorry, I never follow a recipe….)

Anyway, everyone seemed to like it and it comes in a big sheet, so easy to bring to parties, or a church gathering.

EASY SPANAKOPITA

This came from Good Housekeeping many years ago.

  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 4 green onions, thinly sliced
  • 4 large eggs
  • 4 pkg (10 oz each) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
  • 1 (24 oz) container creamed cottage cheese
  • 3/4 lb feta cheese, crumbled
  • 3 Tbsp chopped fresh dill
  • 2 pkg (8 oz each) refrigerated crescent dinner rolls  (reduced fat)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

In 10 inch skillet over medium heat, in hot olive oil, cook green onions until tender, about 5 minutes. Spoon into large bowl.

Separate 1 egg, reserve egg white for glaze.

Into bowl, stir egg yolk, remaining eggs, spinach, cottage cheese, feta cheese, and 2 Tbsp chopped dill.

Unroll 1 can crescent rolls and separate into 2 large rectangles. Place in bottom of 13×9-inh baking pan. With fingers, press dough to cover bottom of pan, forming crust.

Bake crust 5 minutes.

Spread spinach filling evenly over crust. Unroll second can of dough and place on top of pie. With fingers stretch dough to cover filling completely, pinching perforations closed and pressing dough to edges of pan. Beat reserved egg white until frothy, brush over pie, sprinkle with remaining dill.

Bake 40 minutes, covering with foil halfway through baking if browning too quickly. Serve hot, or cover and refrigerate to serve cold later.

Published in: on January 9, 2012 at 8:44 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mmmdinner.wordpress.com/2012/01/09/easy-spanakopita/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

