Kale with Sausage and Chick Peas

Image

This is a recipe from the South Beach Diet Book. My good friend, Tracy served this to me in Vermont a couple of summers ago and I loved it, but I’ve never had the nerve to buy kale.  Recently I picked up a box of Baby Kales on special, remembering how much I enjoyed this dish. I followed the recipe except I used more garlic and I added some whole wheat  pasta bow ties because I didn’t think I had enough Kale.  There wasn’t a lot of pasta; I didn’t want this to be a pasta dish with kale, rather a kale and sausage dish with a side of “healthy” pasta. (Actually the whole wheat pasta was perfect because it could stand up to the heartiness of the dish.) I put the  cooked pasta in the pan with the kale and allowed it to soak up all the delicious juices of the broth. My chicken Italian sausage was quite spicy, and the kale was very tasty. We’ve always done spinach with sausage (Luigi’s Italian grandmother’s dish), but I think I like the kale better because it’s heartier, and I really liked the addition (for us) of the chick peas. All and all, a big hit.

Update:  I have made this with half spinach/half kale, white beans instead of garbanzos and still very delicious. I have also since finally bought a bunch of kale, so no longer am I dependent on those pricey boxes of baby kale to make this.

Ingredients

1/2 tablespoon Extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 pound Reduced-fat sweet or hot Italian turkey sausages
1/2 Small onion, diced
1-1/2 Garlic cloves, minced
3/4 cup Lower-sodium chicken broth
1/2 (1-pound) bunch Kale, stemmed and roughly chopped (3 to 3-1/2 cups)
1/2 (15-ounce) can Chickpeas, rinsed and drained
Salt and freshly ground black pepper

Preparation

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat. Add sausages and cook until browned on all sides, turning occasionally, 6 minutes. Remove from pan and cut each sausage in half on the diagonal.

Add onion and garlic to the same saucepan and cook over medium heat until softened and translucent, about 3 minutes. Add broth and bring to a simmer. Add kale, cover, and cook until wilted and softened, about 8 minutes.

Add sausages and cook, covered, until no longer pink in the center, about 8 minutes. Add chickpeas and continue cooking, covered, until heated through, 2 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper and serve hot, spooning any remaining cooking liquid on top.

And just for fun and memories, here are photos of the day when I ate kale for the first time in Vermont with the view of the beautiful lake.  The lake was sparkling on that day!

The kale we ate came from Tracy’s garden!

And here we are after that delicious meal!

Published in: on October 1, 2012 at 8:18 pm  Comments (1)  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://mmmdinner.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/kale-sausage-and-chick-peas/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Ev,
    Your version looks and sounds wonderful,extra spicy sausage and pasta will be my next changes to a very healthy meal.
    That was a great time together–and we did have some fabulous weather! Thanks for honoring the little things we do with so much pizzaz and creative energy–love you, Tracy


Leave a Reply

